Saturday, January 03, 2009

Christmas

Alrighty, I'm going to have a whole bunch of posts tonight and tomorrow as I try to get caught up.
First: Christmas. Christmas was wonderful! We had a fun time on Christmas Eve at Kevin and Candaces, who provided us a DELICIOUS christmas dinner then with a re-enactment of the Christmas story:
From Christmas Pics 2008


Christmas morning, Daniel opened his first-ever present, a gift from my mom:
From Christmas Pics 2008


Kenny really did a great job of making Christmas special. Among the loot:
Kenny got a lego set, a comic book, and a video game (final fantasy tactics A2). We joke that Santa confused Kenny with a 13 year old boy, but I'm pretty sure he got it right:). I got a tripod for my camera (yay), a 640 gig external hard drive so I could reformat my compy, Spore (computer game, from my mom), MANY books (including a roald dahl collection), a lovely white sweater from my mother-in-law (who seems to have an uncanny ability for buying exactly what I need)
From Christmas Pics 2008

(by the way, this is Daniel's new favorite way to relax)
and... wait for it...
AN XBOX! Now, we had a $100 limit for buying for each other, so this was VERY unexpected. Apparently with the xbox 360 well established in the market, used original xboxs are pretty darn cheap. So kenny got me a bundle- the Xbox, Halo, Halo 2, some maps for Halo 2, and Morrowind.
The funny thing is that Kenny gave me a hint- "that I'd never guess what he bought me, but that it was VERY hard to buy because it goes so strongly against his principles". See, my husband is a nintendo man. We like the simpler games, the non-life-consuming games, that you can pick up and play with friends, where the focus is fun, ease of use, and not graphics. He also doesn't like first-person shooters very much. Combine that with some disagreements with Microsoft, and the xbox isn't high on our list of consoles (the only thing below it is the playstation3).

This purchase, especially for christmas, has some deeper significance as well. 3 years ago while we were dating, we both went to our respective homes for Christmas, and I got to play halo a bunch with my sister Becky. Kenny and I talked a lot over the phone that break, and I told him how much fun I was having with the xbox. He says the day he realized he would marry me was the day he realized he would actually consider buying an xbox for me:)- with that realization, he realized he should rather save up his money and buy me a ring instead. A good choice. All the same, I'm so happy to finally have an xbox, so we can play halo and fable and oblivion. Halo's a good co-op game we can play together- we've already been through the easy campaign and are now going through on normal (fortunately we both suck equally). We joke that I am lucky to have a husband who would buy me an xbox, and he is lucky to have the kind of wife that would ask for one:).
All in all, a WONDERFUL christmas. Having Kenny home for these two weeks has been great, I'll be sad to send him back to work on Monday.

3 comments:

Linda said...

Your husband treats so well! What a fun Christmas. Have fun gaming and call us sometime for Mariokarting! I think I can beat Kenny at least once! Take good care of that good man you have.

Sarah Anne said...

So glad you had such a good holiday. What a great hubby you have.

Anonymous said...

welcome to the world of xbox! truly a different one from nintendo land. kenny is a thoughtful, sweet guy! i'm glad you had a good christmas!