Friday, April 25, 2008

This is getting ridiculous

7.5. I'm now at 7.5. My doctor called all morning to get me to come to L&D just to be measured- she's very worried that once labor starts it'll happen so quickly that Kenny will be stuck catching a baby at home.
I had had some contractions over the night, but they were gone by morning. I called Kenny at work anyways and had him come home to drive me to the hospital. If nothing else, it was worth hearing his class's reaction to my call- they were all very excited:). It's going to be very awkward if there's no baby, come Monday.
So anyways, we packed our bags (I knid of considered it a "dry run") and headed in, and sure enough I'm now at 7.5 cm. I'm having a contraction once every 6 minutes or so- but still not feeling them. The doctor was much cooler about it this time and told us we could go home since I'm still not in active labor, but first, could we please walk around the hospital for a few hours to see if we could get things going. So we did, we walked circles around the maternity ward for two hours. It didn't seem to make a difference, so they sent us home.
So here I am, 7.5 cm dilated, just chilling at home and actually about to head to the store, I think.

My real fear at this point is I'm going to stall and be stuck at 7.5 for weeks. I don't know how well I'd handle that... right now, every little twinge I feel I think "oh, is that it? do we need to head back to the hospital now?" It's very nerve wracking.
Still, I've made it really far without hardly any pain or discomfort... it's almost unbelievable.
Pray for us that this baby will come this weekend (for my and my doctor's sanity) and th
at we'll know when to go to the Hospital.

4 comments:

Stephanie said...

I'm praying for an easy (and not too fast) labor for you!

Danielle said...

Wow!

It seems that I should be checking your blog every hour for new changes!

I couldn't feel my contractions either (until active labor) - after hearing your sister's story, I'm very thankful!

I can't wait to hear more, see some pictures and learn your son's name!

Take care!

Anonymous said...

dude, get a pedicure or have kenny do some reflexology.

Julie said...

That's crazy, yeah if I were you I'd go for natural too. If you've gotten this far without pain then maybe that means the rest will be relatively easy too. Either way that sounds like so much fun, good luck!