Sunday, January 13, 2008

The bad blogger

So I know everyone is awaiting pics and news, and I have no excuse... we've had internet for over a week now. I'm going to try to post every day this week and hopefully feel a bit more caught up.
Things are great! Honestly, we are just so happy in our new place. Here's a recap:
Kenny started student teaching last Monday. It is a rough school district but we knew that coming into this. Fortunately, Kenny got assigned to a "magnet school"- the kids (or their parents) have to apply to get in, so the fact they are there at least some one is caring about these kids schooling. The school is about 97% minorities, but Kenny says "they're just kids, like anywhere else". Kids with mesh backpacks and metal detectors. We really lucked out and Kenny's mentoring teacher, Mr. Gore, set Kenny up to be an after-school tutor 8 hours a week for 25 dollars an hour- which is perfect! We knew Kenny would need/want a part time job when we got here and couldn't think of where a nearly-graduated math major could work. And it gives him plenty of time at home with me.
I'm doing well. I'm convinced more and more everyday that I'm just one lucky girl- this pregnancy has been a breeze so far. Working remotely isn't as bad as I thought it would be- generally I'm not too lonely and I've actually been more productive than I was at the office. Lucy keeps me company all day and has adjusted well to our new home, other than her need to growl at new folks coming to our house. Anyone who's met our puppy knows she is very gentle and hardly intimidating, so I don't know who she thinks she is fooling. She had an adventure the other day, having to do with a hole in our fence, but I'll save that for another post.
I don't have pictures of the house yet, though we are getting there. We're 90% unpacked and I did finally find the camera. I'd post my most recent belly pics but they look no different from the last ones. I do at last have an appetite and am eating as much as a pregnant woman should. I'm almost back up to the weight I was when I started.
Tomorrow we meet the baby! We have our ultrasound at 2 o'clock and get to find out the gender. We're VERY excited. Honestly, I don't think I could say if I have a preference for a boy vs. a girl- both have advantages and disadvantages... I just want to know!
Check back tomorrow for another post!

2 comments:

Danielle said...

I've been checking in every day to see if the bad blogger had pictures of her belly or house! Glad everything is working out for you guys. Have fun meeting your baby tomorrow! We didn't care if it was a boy or girl either, we just wanted to know so we could start doing some shopping! Can't wait to check in tomorrow...

Chris Kline said...

Glad you're finally repenting. Mail me or give me a call if you ever want to talk about working from home. Now that I've been doing it for years, I could probably offer a few things that help ya.