Friday night Kenny was supposed to work (he theoretically has to get 30 hours a week) The thing is, he is a good manager, and the shop is entirely caught up- there wouldn't have been anything for him to do at the shop, he just feels like he needs to meet that 30 hour mark.
So anyways, I was having a hard time with the idea of him working on our date night, and I worry so much about him burning himself out. But at the same time, if he decides to stay home because of me, then works extra long on Saturday to make up for it, then I feel horrible for not letting him meet his obligations.
I told him he works too hard to please everyone but himself then, before he had a chance to speak, said "and don't think I don't know what goes on in your head when I say that. Some switch just turned on in your head that said "Jen is sad because she thinks I work too hard. In order to make her happy, I need to work even harder at showing her I don't work too hard! I need to work hard and make it look easy!"
He smiled and said "you know me too well." So he decided, for his own sake, to stay home and relax and take care of himself. We ended up wandering around the mall together (his pastime of choice) and he got to buy a mario t-shirt and a new settlers of Catan game ("histories of catan").
It was a delightful weekend. Other highlights: shopping with lori on saturday, having friend Ben over multiple times to play our new Catan game, watching the superbowl (and the puppy bowl* on animal planet), shopping for a potential couch (we're thinking of this one, though it is cheaper at the outlet here than the price you see online.)
*The puppy bowl= on superbowl sunday, animal planet puts a bunch of puppies in a miniature football arena and tapes them playing with each other for 3 hours. They then play that from 1 pm until midnight or so. One of the best shows on television- and don't miss the kitty half-time show!
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
2 comments:
Couch buying is fun times for sure. Oh, we did catch the kitty halftime show, but it wasn't as good as I expected.
I still cant believe that you watched the puppy bowl for more then 30 seconds.
thats. just. wrong!
Post a Comment