I have my diploma, at last. Only 8 months after I "graduated", I've jumped through the necessary hoops and have the piece of paper. I feel amazingly... exactly the same. And I never did give in and take Freshman English- my way of sticking it to "the man". Here is how the "sticking" happened:
I signed up to take the class 3 times. Each time, I walked out of the class on the first day because it seemed that remedial. Mind you, I had taken English 101 AND 102 at Clark College, but they only transfered as half of the credit I needed. I got a 35/36 on the English ACTs, and that counted towards nothing.
So, I thought Independent Study would be better. I signed up for it, paid $160, got the materials, opened the book, and shuddered. No, I will NOT show you three different ways of brainstorming/outlining a paper. So, I kept the independent study materials around for years, calling each July to pay 30 dollars to extend my course time limit a year. 3 years later, I finish advanced technical writing, my senior seminar/thesis, and I still don't have that darn freshman credit.
At this point, I got to walk around the Marriott Center in a funny hat and robes and have mom and dad take pictures of me (pictures we won't show because my hair was taking over the world that day). But I'm still not done.
I almost gave in to the man- I did half of the Independent Study course before I couldn't take it anymore. I talk to there English professors and my Faculty Advisor. My only way out is to take the challenge exam, which is only offered every September. And costs 30 more bucks. Come September, I take the test. For the portfolio I'm supposed to turn in with the test, I turn in my 10th grade English portfolio.
I got a C. And there you have it. 4 years and about 230 dollars later, I finally got my English Credit, without having to sit through a "boring" and "remedial" class.
Ha, take that, "the man"!
Now, only 16 months left til Kenny gets his insignificant piece of paper- err, diploma- then we can really be grown ups. In the meantime, does anyone have a baby I could play with?
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
4 comments:
After all that, I'm not sure who got sticked worse- you or the man... but at least you finally graduated. Welcome to the club.
I dont really have any babies anymore, but you are welcome to come play with them. You should call Annie, she has cute babies and would probably love free babysitting!
I have an 8 month old you can come take for a few hours if you want. Her name is Gracie, she's very cute and I need a break sometimes. I love reading your blog. You are very witty. Glad to see you are doing well!
I have to agree with Lori, but woohoo, you're done! Congrats, Jenn. Feel free to drive on down to Texas and play with our babies...we'll have plenty of them -- Jonathan informed me we're having 10 more.
Post a Comment