One, Daniel told me a story a few days ago. Most people wouldn't think much of it, but when Kenny asked Daniel to tell me what they did this morning, Daniel told me (with many long pauses for concentration): "Walk. Push Red Car. Help Dog. Frog.". Which means "we went for a walk, I pushed the red car, I helped hold the dog's leash, and we saw a frog". This is HUGE- he's not just telling me he wants grapes or something, he's actually making unprompted efforts at conversation. I know non-parents or parents of children who communicate readily won't see what the fuss is about, but I'm way too excited about this. But not nearly excited as I am about...
POTTY TRAINING!
We started the three-day method on Saturday. I'd been told by various trustworthy sources that there is a short window of potty-trainability at about this age, and if you miss it things get difficult until they are about 3. That and I want to shampoo our carpets and it seems a foolish thing to do if potty training is in your near future. Kenny goes back to school in a week and Daniel goes back to preschool in 1 month, so now seemed a good time.
Daniel helped show his potty doll (which is even an anatomically correct little boy, only 8 bucks at Toys-R-Us) how to pee in the potty, and saw that the doll got a big celebration and candy. We then put away the diapers and whipped out the dinosaur underwear, then started downing the juice and water. We had one big mishap (fortunately in the kitchen) and Daniel just seemed confused by it, so I was worried maybe this was all a bit over his head. He got on and off the potty maybe 6 times in 2 hours (with an M&M each time) with no luck and one very small accident.
| Yes, we threw a party for Victor the Turtle this morning. Daniel helped him get on the potty, helped him clap his hands, gave him high fives, and delivered a skittle for his success. |
His only other major accident that first day was in the garage- so no accidents on carpet yet.
We had NO major accidents yesterday (one minorly wet training pants, that's all), and 5 successes yesterday- one, he told me mid-shower he needed to go so I ran around the house naked and dripping wet getting his potty and treats, and he held on til I was ready! Then another 2 happened at church (yes, I toted the lid to his training seat to church with us because he's still not comfortable with big toilets). This morning he woke up dry (we're doing pull-ups over night) and has since pottied three times, no accidents at all.
| Victor the Turtle is progressing in his potty training efforts nicely. His undies have been dry all day (as have Daniel's)! |
PS Daniel REALLY likes telling people on the phone about his successes, so I apologize in advance to my family members who will be hearing from us a lot.
8 comments:
So funny! Good job and being brave and just trying to make it happen. I think you will like only having one baby in diapers!
P.S. You are FINALLY on my blogroll, so now I won't miss a thing!
Super congrats to D! I'm glad it's going so well. Who are these losers who tell others that things will be so much harder than they are? Tell them they can suck it.
Way to go! Sounds like a success. And I agree with your sister - some people can be so negative...and somehow, they are the people that like to share the most! Congrats on your achievement. Give Daniel an M & M for me!
Congrats!
I can only hope that it goes this well with Liam when we try!
Congrats! That's great that he's doing so well. I'm nervous for this step and jealous that your almost through it! :)
Congrats Daniel! I'm way more excited about the story telling. That's huge! Potty training is cool too. :)
i'm SUPER impressed!! brilynn is ready to potty train but i'm not! ha ha. i just don't have the motivation! congrats mom and daniel!
Post a Comment