If you voted "girl", you were right!!! She was measuring right on target, perfectly healthy, and, though I was so worried I wouldn't be able to trust an ultrasound saying it was a girl, this Little One made it very clear.
I'm thrilled, but also... overwhelmed, I guess. It's strange, because up until a few weeks ago I thought it was a girl, I wanted it to be a girl. Then the last few weeks I think my defense mechanism kicked in and I squashed those girly hopes down. And now... well, I squashed too well:)
Don't get me wrong, I'm totally not unhappy- just.... adjusting. I don't know how this caught me so off guard. Kenny is doing a good job of being thrilled- he'll be a great daddy to a little girl.
My thoughts on the matter:
Cons:
-I am surprisingly TERRIFIED of doing little girl hair. True, my child is likely to be bald for the first year, but there will come a day when I need to prepare this little girl's hair for church, and... eek!
-I'm worried we will produce a tomboy. We play video games and legos. We play in the dirt. I don't imagine myself ever happily buying into the Disney Princess stuff.
-Having a boy would have been much simpler, financially. We have so much boy stuff that will be going into storage now.
-I'm not that girly. Oh, yes, I love little newborn girl outfits and frilly diaper covers, but... currently I don't think I own a single purple thing, baby or otherwise. (PS don't buy me purple stuff. Pink is ok, frilly is ok, but we're gonna keep the purple to a minimum).
-Daniel won't have a brother right next to him in age to be friends with.
Pros:
-SHOPPING! I am so excited to be able to easily find adorable clothes for this kid. No, we don't have the money to buy out Carter's like I want to, but... I am SO excited to buy a new little wardrobe and bedding and stuff.
-Names. We have 4 or 5 girl names we really like. I have no idea what we would have done if it were a boy- we pretty much hate all boy names right now. (And no, I'm not telling people our names. It isn't that I want it secret, it's more that I read WAY too much into people's reactions. If you catch me in a brave moment I may try to slip it into a conversation, we'll see.)
-We don't have to discuss circumcision or worry about that. Yay!
-Daniel won't have a brother right next to him in age to COMPETE with.
-Frilly diaper covers. 'Nough said.
-I am actually really excited for an older girl. Like 8 years old or more. I'm excited to be able to be friends with my daughter, to share interests, to read books together, to discuss growing up together.
I suspect that after hitting Carter's tomorrow morning, I will be properly ecstatic over this little girl.:)
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
9 comments:
We're way giddy for you guys, you'll have so much fun.
I remember feeling similar to you when I found out about Ashley - I'd already had 2 boys and wasn't sure I could do the girl thing. Looking back, I'm so glad Ashley is part of our family. Little girls are wonderful.
That's awesome! I wouldn't worry about doing her hair, I have never been talented at making my hair look cute but it's so easy with my girls. I literally toss it up in a barrette or something and they look cuter than I ever have. Plus the cute diaper covers will totally make up for everything, they are my favorite!
Before Zac was born, we had more toys for boys than for girls. It was inevitable for our family because I'm not into princesses either. Now that the 2 kids are older, they have so much fun playing together because my girl is into all the boy stuff. We'll see how it turns out though in a few years 'cause it could always change. :) I'm thrilled for you. Shopping for girls is sooo easy (until they're teenagers!) and especially at consignment stores. Do you know about the store, "Once Upon a Child."? Check it out to see if you have it in your area. Really cheap and adorable clothes!
you'll figure it out. just like you figured out how to mother a boy. and yeah, i think shopping for girl clothes will totally help. anyway, CONGRATS!
Congratulations! I felt the same way as you did when I was pregnant the second time and was secretly hoping we were having a boy. But it is nice to have a protective older brother - it's heartwarming, actually, to see them together. And I agree - shopping is way better! You'll have to post your Carter's purchases so we can all oogle. Congrats again on your baby girl!
you will LOVE having a girl! they are so much fun to dress and accessorize and all that stuff. i'm not super girly either but i still love dressing brilynn up. go figure. and you will learn to do her hair. it takes a little trial and error and bribery but you'll figure it out! i'm super excited for you guys!
YAY! I am so excited for you guys! I have plenty of little girls clothes if you want me to ship them your way :)
CONGRATS! You're gonna have a blast and all other things will work themselves out in time. :+)
Post a Comment