Thursday, June 19, 2008

The new (old) car

So, my dear little hyundai was totaled and has gone on to a better place, along with the BRAND new tires we had just bought for it. We got 5500 for the car from the insurance company... but we still owed about 3500 (those darn elantras depreciate quickly apparently). SO, we didn't have much to work with. We toyed around with the idea of buying a new car, and I fell in love with this:
A new "glacier blue" Honda CRV. We test drove it and actually seriously considered it. I don't know what drug we were on that deluded us into thinking we could EVER afford such a car.

After looking at what payments would look like, we went the other direction: Houston Craiglist. We had from Thursday night, when we found out from the insurance company how much money we'd get, until tuesday, when we had to return the rental car, to find the right car.
We found a '01 blue CRV that I really liked for 6k, but both of us felt that we could find something better. 2 days later, we gave in and told the guy we'd buy it. The next day he emails us and says he ended up selling it to a "higher bidder" (even though he had already arranged to exchange the car with us). So... boo. Our runner up, which I didn't like much at first impression, was a '98 Honda Accord with 98k miles on it. I had vetoed it when we first saw it.
Well, meet Morgan (after another old black man):


I've really warmed up to him. Really, for a ten year old car he's in great shape. And, as a honda civic, he's probably got another 100k in him. The interior is in great shape (original floormats even). The only exterior problem is some paint damage on his bum:

I don't think he's ever seen a garage in his life. The only other things I don't like is that it doens't have a boit-boit (keyless entry thingy), no LATCH (for easy and safe installation of a car seat) and it has no CD player (no tape deck, even). But, it has more guts than the Elantra, and the best news is it only cost $5000- meaning we have no car debt! (also means we will NEVER get to sod our backyard, or buy a dresser for the nursery...)
So in the end I guess it all worked out. It was a very stressful weekend though, and I'm grateful for a husband who knows a thing or two about cars (or, perhaps, for a father-in-law who knows a thing or two about cars:)).

7 comments:

Lori said...

Well, it's not as fun as a CRV, but you can't poo-poo a honda civic; they're staple, dependable cars. Hope you can fall in love with it over the next few weeks.

Danielle said...

I, too, fell in love with the new CRVs. I'm glad everything worked out!

Mbeth said...

nice wheels. we have a '99 civic that has worked like a champ.
ps, i really like crv's too. they are just so darn cute and spacey.

Jolayne said...

I had a guy do that to me once--sell a car on me after I had already made arrangements to buy it. What's with those kind of people anyway?

Glad you found something reliable; you just can't beat a Honda. Whatever happened with the lady who rear ended you?

Sarah Anne said...

Glad to see you found a car you are happy with.
I'm not sure I ever congratulated you on your baby. He's adorable and you and Kenny just sound like the perfect parents. Keep up the great work.
As for a new dresser, try going to garage sales. You might find a surprise.

Chris Kline said...

So what's the deal with talking about your car as though it were a person? What does your therapist think of that?

Congrats and glad you found a good deal.

Jenn said...

Chris, it's my attempt to make myself like the car more:)