Thursday, June 05, 2008

A car accident and the silver lining.

My car is most likely totaled, but we're all ok. I was driving in our only car, a '03 hyundai elantra, by myself back from a baby shower, stopped at an intersection on the phone with my husband, when all the sudden, BAM, I got rear-ended and pushed into the car in front of me. I yelled into the phone at my poor frightened husband (I didn't swear, I'm very proud of myself) and scared the crap out of him, and got some pretty back whiplash. My engine seemed fine, though the hood was a little crumpled and the headlights were nonexistant. The back of the car took most the damage- the tow guy estimates the car is totalled because the frame is so bent (the frame is pushing against the back tire and shredding the tire).
We all hopped out, the lady behind me (the one who caused it) just sat staring forward completely spaced out, unresponsive... her teenage daughter in the back seat was crying, said the mom had had a seizure and asked me to call 911, which I did. Then the driver in front of me said he was going to get his car out of the way and just drove off... while I was watching him, the car behind me also took off. So it seemed like both cars had hit-and-run.
Seems to me there was something else going on with the lady who "had the seizure", as she drove all the way home without realizing there had been an accident til her teenage daughter made her drive back. Meanwhile I had been sitting in a parking lot with my totaled car waiting for the cops, wondering how Daniel was handling his missed feeding.

Edited to clarify: So yes, the lady came back and we got her insurance info.

Anyways, it was scary, my neck hurts something awful, but I'm feeling so lucky. Here's why:
-We're fully insured, they'll pay for a rental, and might even get a better car out of it (a better family car at least).
-It's the one week that Kenny doesn't have to work- neither of us have anywhere we have to be tomorrow while we sort it out.
-It gave us a reason to give Daniel his first formula (since I was 2 hours late for his dinner), and he took to it quite well. Hooray!
-I was still only blocks away from the baby shower, and the hostess was a good friend who picked me up, helped me clean out the car, and took me home.

And here's the biggest reason I'm feeling lucky:
I had planned on bringing Daniel with me but he had been abnormally fussy all evening so I didn't. I couldn't figure out what was wrong. I'm SO glad he was fussy so I left him home and he wasn't in the car. I bet he'd've been ok in his car seat, but I would always have wondered- there's no way to say to a baby "are you hurt?"

Anyways, there's my evening's excitement. I'll post pictures of my poor car when we take some tomorrow.

8 comments:

Danielle said...

Oh, my! I'm SO glad that you are okay! And how lucky, blessed, fortunate [enter similar word here] that Daniel was not with you. Take it easy...hope your neck feels better soon!

Rachey said...

Okay, so the lady did come back then? Man, what a scary situation.

Jolayne said...

So sorry that it happened, and grateful for all the blessings.

Also impressed by a responsible teenage daughter--must have been pretty scary for her too.

Mbeth said...

ooh, freaky business. That seems fairly severe for that lady, she probably shouldn't have a license with seizures that disorient her that much. Good thing her daughter was with her. I hope you feel better.

Melarie Wheat said...

Yikes! Glad to hear everone is okay.

Lori said...

Yes, definitely happy nothing too bad came out of a potentially horrible situation. And now you can maybe get something higher off the ground- it's such a lifesaver with a carseat. Looking forward to pics.

eric and melea said...

scary! Good thing the baby wasn't in the car.

Melissa said...

Gosh I'm so sorry that happened. . .NO FUN at all!