Bedrest is better than I thought it would be. My inherent laziness helps, of course:). I managed to still work 36 hours this week- all in all I've only spent 8 hours of PTO for this whole thing, and that includes last week's stay in the hospital.
I'm still having contractions pretty frequently, but they aren't increasing or becoming more painful, so I'm choosing not to worry about them. The nurse gave me instructions of "when to worry", so I'm just watching out for those things.
I have noticed every time I get up to go potty or eat, I have a contraction right then, which has helped convince me the bedrest is necessary, since apparently standing up=contractions. Otherwise it's still a bit hard for me to feel like this has all been needed, but I think it's just because we were lucky with how everything worked out, I don't get to see how it COULD have been.
The biggest annoyance of the bedrest is how sore my back is all the time. I wish I could figure out a way to type while laying on my side!
Kenny has been GREAT. He just did all the laundry, vacuumed, and cleaned my desk (since it sits across from the bed and I was sick of staring at the clutter 24/7). Now my bed space is much cleaner and I can relax a bit more.
I did taxes this morning, so I feel productive and useful as well. We owe a significant amount in taxes, but I knew we would, because of us exercising our stock options. Still, there were a few tears this morning- I don't know how we are going to make it through this, financially. I saw what my insurance was billed for my stay at the hospital: over 10k! And I'll probably be paying about 20% of that. I only hope I understand how the out-of-pocket maximum works, because that's going to save us.
And thank heavens Kenny starts getting paid this week! He's out buying a car seat as we speak, since for some reason that's been weighing on my mind as the highest priority item (I hate thinking if I had the baby now we'd have no way to get him home, which is ridiculous- if the baby came NOW he wouldn't be coming home for a LONG time). Still, I'll feel better once we have that and a co-sleeper/bassinet thing. We're slowly working towards having our home ready for this little guy.
Oh, and I think we finally decided on a name we both really like. One we hadn't even really considered before popped into my head while we were in the hospital. We're keeping it relatively secret, though- not because I want to be spiteful or don't want everyone to know, but because I read too much into people's reactions and thats killed every name we've liked so far.
So, that's about it! I'm not going crazy at all and life goes on! My baby is getting bigger and stronger by the day and I can see how lucky we are every time I look around.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
6 comments:
Hang in there!
Your baby will be a great blessing to you. Don't worry, HF has paved the way for it to all work out.
That's awesome that you're loving it. It's nice that you have stuff to do to keep you busy. That was my biggest problem.
I'm excited you guys got a name too. Even though you're not sharing it yet it's fun to have something to call your little guy.
wow the suspense is killin me. would you tell me the name if i promised to say nice things even if i hated it?
oh and given what Kenny would do for a box of icecream, it doesn't surprise me what he'll do for you.
I think I would go stir crazy laying in bed all day. If I am still in bed at 7 am, I begin to think the day's a-wasting. Guess I can thank my parents for that.
Glad to hear that it is going well for you. Amazing how things fall in to place isn't it?
Thanks for keeping us in the loop. Things have worked out thus far; have faith that they will continue to be fine. Afterall, there's no reason they wont' be! :-)
Find a way to keep occupied and I'm sure the time will go faster. Typing while laying on your side can't be good. One thing I did for my boss when he had to be face down for a month after eye surgery was to give him some audio books from ldsaudio.org. It helped pass the time. I'll send it to you too.
Post a Comment