So, as far as I know the pregnancy is still going well. Here's what I've learned about pregnancy that I didn't know before:
-It's completely normal to LOSE weight at the beginning of a pregnancy. I've actually lost 10 pounds since I found out. This is to make up for the eventual weight I am sure I will gain. Remember 2003 when that medicine made me pack all that weight into my cheeks and bum? (It was the same summer that I overplucked my eyebrows.... not a good summer for me.) Yeah, I'm terrified of that happening again... all the weight going into my cheeks or something. My limbs have never picked weight up much and I fear being disproportionate.
-Morning sickness isn't just in the morning. Well, I had heard that before, but I figured they meant "you can feel sick at night instead". What they actually mean is "you will feel sick all day every day for the next 3 months". To be fair, I'm lucky- I haven't vomited. I just hate food. I actually gag when I try to swallow stuff. No wonder I've lost weight.
-I will cry if I'm out of bed past 10 pm. I don't need a reason. Kenny will look over, bless his heart, and go "is everything ok, sweetiie?" and I'll just be a puddle on the floor. I've never known exhaustion like this.
-You get dumber. I can't remember stuff, I can't spell anymore and I can't focus enough for even some video games.
-Apparently blood pressure goes down for the first trimester. Go figure. Whereas I used to get dizzy one out of ten times of standing up, now EVERY time I stand up, I immediately fall right back down, usually with some sort of dazed dopey look on my face.
-Every one you know will tell you horror stories about pregnancy. "I was in labor 28 hours!" or "I miscarried at 5 months". All stuff that I don't particularly want to hear. Like I've said before, I'm terrified of miscarrying. The less I think about it the better.
-The world doesn't slow down for your pregnancy. Not every one will guess you are pregnant, and not every one will treat you like you're amazing for putting yourself through this. As a matter of fact, women go through this every day and it's apparently not earth-shattering (these women, all mothers, are now my heroes).
-I've learned some other things and read a frightfully honest pregnancy book that let me know what I was really in for, but I want to shield the rest of the world, particularly my wonderful husband, from some of the more gory or depressing aspects of it, so I'll wrap this up.
After all my whining, I'm thrilled to have symptoms because that means the baby is growing and my body is responding appropriately. I'd be more freaked out if I lost my symptoms. My baby this week is about half an inch long, has a heart, lungs and some brain, and flippery-dos for limbs.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
3 comments:
Hi Jenni! Here's my advice: don't listen to others (well, listen, but take it with a grain of salt)! Everybody experiences pregnancy and birth differently - nobody is alike. The yucky stuff you are going through now will soon disappear, and either be replaced by different yucky stuff (hopefully not too bad), or by more positive side effects. When you are having a bad day - swollen feet, exhaustion, heart burn - take a moment to sit back and think about the mystery, the miracle, the amazing journey that you are on. Think about how lucky you are, and that in a short time, all of it will be worth it - you'll have a son or daughter! But, some mom's -especially those that had a bad pregancy - can ruin it with the stories they feel inclined to share. And strangers can be the worst, too - they share a lot whether you ask forit or not! Wishing you the best!
PS My blog is at www.cougarsinoregon.blogspot.com if you want to stop by.
All sounds normal to me! Don't scare yourself too much and remembering that women somehow live through the pregnancy/newborn phase of life does help a little bit. I'm excited for all my future nieces/nephews in the next year! Yeah! Take Care!
It gets better...or so Candace tells me. :-)
Post a Comment