Tuesday, November 02, 2010

This is halloween...

We had a very fun halloween this year.
We took Daniel to Old NAvy and let him pick his own costume (for the record they had lots of adorable costumes under 20 bucks). I wanted him to be a dragon, but he really wanted to be a shark. Even at the store trying it on, he was wandering up to strangers and pretending to bite them. He was cute enough he could get away with it though:


He got to dress up for school and also got invited to a friend's party (his first peer invite, from "lela", aka Bella). On the day after halloween when we got to school he was so sad that he wasn't in his costume again.
Saturday we went to our ward Trunk or Treat. My own costume was a bit too gory for it, so at the last minute I grabbed a white maternity shirt and drew a pumpkin on it (apparently my decade-old oil pastels work well on fabric for a temporary effect):

Kenny dressed up as a viking (the beard limits his options). Unfortunately I only got one pic of him, he was leading the parade (he's holding a sword and axe which added a lot to the costume but can't really be seen in this pic):

Then we hired a babysitter (for maybe the 4th time in Daniel's life) and went to a friend's costume party. My costume changed from the pumpkin belly to this:


Yes, that is a two-headed dragon erupting from my belly. :)
We ended up not trick or treating on Sunday because Daniel was a bit under the weather. I had wanted to, just to get to know some neighbors, but... no luck. And we only got two groups of trick-or-treaters ourselves- a bunch of kids Daniel's age, and some random teenagers not even in costumes. I've had a curse for about 15 years, no matter where I've lived I never get more than a couple door knocks on halloween.

These and other october pics are up at our web album.

7 comments:

Lisa said...

Great costumes! Daniel makes an adorable shark!
We didn't get a single trick-or-treater this year. I usually haven't gotten many, but this was the first year of zero.

Meanwhile, back at the ranch said...

I'm jealous. Everytime I go to Old Navy and try to bite strangers, they call security.....
Great costumes!

Anonymous said...

I like the dragon erupting from your belly, that's a really cute idea. I want to know how you did that. :) D was the cutest shark i've ever seen. can't wait to see what baby girl kunz looks like!!

Alan and Kiersten said...

that 2 headed dragon is hilarious. i love it! daniel looks so cute in his skark costume. i'm glad he chose that one there were TONS of dragons in our area! looks like a great halloween!

Lori said...

he's just making the cutest faces in his shark costume. He could stand to be more intimidating though; because right now he's the sweetest li'l shark there ever was.

Becca said...

ahh! omigosh what a baby belly costume! that is hideous! way to go, Jenni!

Candace said...

I love the shark costume - well all of the costumes actually!