First, if I haven't warned my readers before, I'll warn you now: sometimes I pass out. I'm not talking headrushes (though I get those too), I'm talking lose-consciousness-even-while-sitting-and-turn-purple-and-green-and-shake-uncontrollably-then-wake-up-and-throw-up episodes. If this ever should happen while you're around me, don't freak out, don't call 911, I'm not dying, just get me something to throw up in and a drink.
So what brings on this ominous warning? Well, it happened yesterday in the Walmart parking lot. I suspected it was coming all day- I have a bad cold (it often happens when I'm sick) and had a toenail removed this morning because of toenail fungus (I'm assuming stress and blood loss had something to do with it). I had even told kenny in the morning that I was feeling like today might be one of THOSE days.
The last time it happened was on a plane in August of 08, the time before that, in the shower getting ready for my first day of work (I had to call my poor boss and tell him not only was I missing my first day, but also, when does my insurance kick in?) Anyways, I was at walmart with my new roommate Corinne and our new friend Emily. Everything went fine, I even checked out ok (even when I'm healthy I sometimes get a little faint in check-out lines). But as we walked to the car, I began to lose it and realized I needed to lay down NOW (fortunately Daniel was chilling in the seat of the shopping cart). So I did, on the hot pavement (it was 95 yesterday) in the middle of an aisle of the Walmart parking lot, which, of course, attracted a crowd (including a nurse). I desperately wanted to get off the pavement and away from the crowd, so Emily was kind and went and got the car and pulled it around, and I got up and got in it. Unfortunately our Durango's front seats don't recline quite enough (though I don't know if that makes a difference at the point I was at), so that's where I lost it. It felt like I was sleeping for hours (I usually manage to squeeze a full on dream in while I'm passed out), but I don't think I was gone for more than 10 seconds. Apparently I turned green and white and shook around a lot. The nurse nearby could barely find a pulse and they were all debating to call 911. Fortunately, I had warned Corinne that this happens and not to panic. So sweet Corinne and Emily gave me a walmart bag to serve as a barf bag and drove me home, stuck me in bed, put away my groceries, and watched Daniel for me. What a HUGE comfort and help. Kenny works late on Thursdays so he wasn't home til 6.
The scary thing is if it had happened 2 minutes later, I would have been driving my two friends and my baby. I do know when it's going to happen, usually by 15 seconds or so, but, who says I could get to the roadside and get parked in that condition safely?
So what causes these little fits? NO idea. The first time it happened, I was healthy and had just graduated high school, so no stress at all. It was at a doctor's office where I was a file clerk, and all my coworker nurses immediately took a blood sample (including glucose) and blood pressure and couldn't find anything weird
After the second time of it happening, we got the full gamut of tests- EKG (heart monitor I wore for 24 hours), an EEG (a brain monitor to test for epilepsy), an MRI, and an echocardiogram... everything came back normal. The problem is that I think we'd need to have those tests done very near to when the incident happens (if not during) and it's not predictable enough. I mean, once a month or so I'll tell Kenny I'm having a "shaky" day (though I have yet to have an episode while Kenny is around), and it only results in a full-on episode maybe one in ten times. So yeah, I'm at a loss for what to do, I'm a little bit terrified of it happening again when I don't have friends around, but we can't afford to get tests done when I can bet they'll be inconclusive because the incident is long gone.
Though, with all that said, things could have been MUCH worse yesterday. I was well taken care of, I managed to not hit my head on anything, and I wasn't holding Daniel.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
6 comments:
Really, all things considered, it happened at a really good time and you're a lucky girl for that. Perhaps you should wear a bracelet though in case it ever happened when friends weren't with you.
i can't believe this happens to you! so scary! i'm glad that the timing was right on and that you had people to help and take care of you. heck, that is so crazy! take care of yourself.
I can't say this exact thing happens to me, but it sounds pretty dang close--the "feeling a shaky day", knowing when it's coming but within like 15 seconds, turning green, shaking uncontrollably, losing consciousness/completely blacking out, "coming to" within seconds but feeling like you've been out for hours, feeling really weak and shaky for a long time afterwards, getting tests done with no real results, etc. No puking for me, though, I guess that's the main difference.
The first time it happened to me was in high school (sophomore year) and it has happened at least 15 times since (though it hasn't happened in a couple of years). The only thing I could link it to was loss of blood (happened a lot when I was in the first days of my period, when blood was being drawn, etc.) but like I said, even with tests we don't know what causes it.
So, my long comment is really just to say, I TOTALLY understand what you're going through. And it sucks.
Let me know if you ever figure out what's going on...then maybe I can ask for those same tests to be done on me, too. :) Good luck!
My younger brother Garth experienced somewhat similar moments that were diagnosed as Petit Mal Seizures. You can read about them here http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/ency/article/000696.htm
Later in life he contended they were related to allergies.
Hugs!
Jen - I agree with Lori - you ought to look at getting one of those medical bracelets.
Love you!
Post a Comment