Sunday, August 03, 2008

The trip from/to hell (Sorry it's so long)

So, my boss was kind and arranged for me to fly into Utah for our company's yearly summer shindig. I was also going to use it as a chance to meet my niece Addie, as well as meet up with a client (a prominent SLC bank who just bought a HUGE contract with me). So a week or two ago I bought my tickets- just to be gone from early friday morning until monday afternoon. Daniel won't take a bottle right now, so he got to join me (plus he wanted to meet his cousin Addie).
Then all week I felt a nagging feeling to cancel the trip. I felt very strongly I just should not go. Mind you, my company is paying for the tickets, and would pay for my cancellation fees if needed, but... why the heck would I turn down a free trip?
Come Thursday night, I wasn't feeling particularly well. I didn't sleep well, and woke up with lots of aches and pains. When Kenny tried to cuddle with me, he pulled away because I was way too hot to the touch. Even then, I didn't take the hint.
So at 6 am Friday morning, Kenny unloaded me, with Daniel in the snugli on my chest, then my check-able baggage, my laptop bag, my diaper bag, my purse, and the infant car seat, all for me to trudge through the airport.
The good news is Daniel handled the flight magnificently- slept through take-off and landing, squawked for a total of maybe 3 minutes (usually while I tried to get a discreet set-up for nursing).
I, unfortunately, did not handle the flight so well. About halfway through the flight, with Daniel asleep in one arm, I had to lean over to the nice teenage pakistani girl sitting next to me and say "hey, this isn't a big deal, but I have a history of fainting spells and I'm feeling really funny. I'm probably going to pass out shortly, and when I come to, I'll need a barf bag and a sprite from the stewardess." That's the last thing I remember- heck, I can't even be sure that last sentence came out remotely coherently, though the nice girl was laid back and understanding and helpful.
When I came to, my head was bobbing around violently, Daniel was awake and fallen harmlessly from my arm to my lap (my neighbor says he was giggling the whole time), and the stewardess was shaking me a little asking "ma'am, are you ok?" Fortunately, this has happened enough before (last time was nearly two years ago) I was able to quickly tell them what I needed (primarily a barf bag, despite having NEVER come close to barfing on a plane before) while assuring them I was just fine, despite being green, shaky and in desperate need of a barf bag and kind neighbors to look the other way and pretend they didn't see/hear me lose my honey-roasted airplane peanuts.
After another agonizing hour and a half, I got off the plan and stood on solid ground. My weak, shaken body resumed its role as a pack mule, and I called the Account Manager for the client I was supposed to go meet and told them there was no way I could make it (fortunately the client and the account manager are laid back and forgiving).
I then collected my checked bag and added it to the car seat, baby, diaper bag, purse, laptop bag, and purse I was already carrying and went towards the rental cars, at which point I felt a strange warm sensation on my chest, which quickly lost its heat and just felt cold and wet. Daniel had saturated his diaper (I hadn't had the will/energy to change it on the flight), and had peed right on through his outfit, the snugli, and my shirt.

And that's when you laugh, with tears in your eyes, and say "Really, God? What else do you have for me today?"

I made it to Lori's house safely (in still-peed-on clothes), and after passing a very rough, lonely night (I don't think I've ever missed my husband so much) finally started feeling good enough to eat Saturday afternoon. By the evening I was mostly ok, though still a little wobbly. I got to go to the summer party, which was awesome, and I was able to see many old friends still in the Provorem area. And hopefully tomorrow morning I can still meet up with my client. Still, it will be a LONG time before I'm willing to travel alone anywhere again.

The moral of the story is when something tells you to stay home, do it. You may never know what may have happened, so just think of this story.

Oh, and if you're wondering, yes I have pass-out episodes. Often while sitting down. The last one was on my first day at this job, chronicled here. And no, we haven't figured out what causes them- my heart and brain seem perfectly fine. Still, it's one of my greatest fears- always in the back of my mind wondering when the next one will be. So if you ever see me turn green, please get me a barf bag and a sprite.

Updated to add that Lori has posted the pics, you can see at her blog here.

9 comments:

Jolayne said...

Remind me to never sit beside you on a plane! So sorry it was a bummer trip.

Danielle said...

What a trip! I'm glad you are feeling better. That picture is so precious (which is not even a good word for it - it's so cute it makes my heart smile!)

Anonymous said...

yikes, sounds like a good time was had by asll. glad you got through ok.

Phoenix Fiber Arts said...

That is aweful! I am so sorry you had to endure that! At least you were staying with Lori, and not some strange hotel alone or something. Glad you made it back in one piece. The cousin pics are adorable!!!

eric and melea said...

the pictures of the kiddos are just too cute!

Mbeth said...

that sucks. sorry i didn't get to see you while you were in the area. we moving this weekend, which was nigh unto chaos. i hope the rest of the trip was less...eventful.

Kristi said...

Thats really traumatic :( Sorry it went so bad but I am glad things got better towards the end!! The pic is adorable!!!

Chris Kline said...

Bum deal! We all have those days. Just be glad you passed out while riding and not driving. :-) Hope things get better for you.

Alan and Kiersten said...

hey jen! i saw your blog on megan's so i thought i would see your sweet baby boy! he is adorable by the way! about the fainting...my husband does it too!!! it's awful! we've been to specialists and all kinds of doctors and they of course have no clue what's going on...yet we still receive massive bills for their whole lot of nothing they give us...it's wonderful, isn't it? anyway, know that you're not alone! that is one awful trip, i'm so sorry to hear that! ps i have a blog too but it's private so just email me your email address and i'll send you an invite if you want!