This week has been a source of fear for me for weeks now. See, Kenny has to go take some how-to-teach-to-be-certified-in-Texas classes all week, every day from 8 to 4. And I still need to work a 40 hour week, frequently on phone calls. And Daniel is still unpredictable as far as a schedule goes, and adorable and hard to leave in front of baby einstein so I can work.
But yesterday went well- I actually got up at 6 am and worked til 7 or so, billing the most hours in one day I've ever done. Today will probably be similar. Except my plans went awry this morning when I was feeding Daniel his 6 am feeding and he exploded- a diaper explosion, that is. On my bra, tummy, underwear, legs, boppy, and sheets. And ALL OVER me and him. So I decide to take a bath with him to clean up (after cleaning up with baby wipes and starting a load of wash.)
Daniel LOVES bath time. He splashes and coos and giggles. We tend to bath together- we've got a big enough bath tub and he loves the floating and cuddling in the water. We had never had a code brown before- just a few code yellows (don't worry I usually shower after our baths). And usually I have Kenny as a support in case of emergency (and to help me in and out of the bath with a slippery wet baby) but he was already out the door (after making me delicious French toast at 5:45 am before he left).
So I set up the bath, while holding a mildly poopy child and still in mildly poopy clothes. We rinse off, then fill up the tub and start the bath ritual. He then exploded again. In the bath tub. On me. I didn't think he had had any more in him.
Happy birthday to me!
Fortunately, poop doesn't faze me too much- I mean I don't like the stuff but, eh it's not the end of the world. Floaties in the sink while doing dishes? Now THAT, I can't handle.
In other news, Daniel is now 13 pounds according to my scale, and sleeps nightly from 9 pm to 6 am or so. He's slowly "waking up to the world" with giggles and smiles but it's been a slow process for him. He get's his name and blessing at church on Sunday and my family will be in town for the whole week- yay. Here's a pic from our trip to Fort Worth (which was a blast, I need to post about it but I'm way behind):
6 comments:
I havent ever had a diaper explode that badly, that's nuts.
I hope you have a fancy and poop-free rest of your birthday though.
that child must have some big poop pipelines for being so small. happy bday.
Baby poop isn't a big deal. I use to say to Chris, "It's just poop." That changes.
Looks like he'd been saving that oh so wonderful gift for awhile. Hope that you have a wonderful birthday.
Happy Birthday - may there be no more Code Browns on your special day!
(Sometimes it helps to move up to the next size up diaper if he has blow outs...the poundage on the box is not always accurate).
Oh, I have to get this one in: I hope you don't have a poopy birthday!
I was thinking today that Reggie hasn't had a "pooping" episode in awhile, but my goodness we had one today! Here's to getting pooped on!
Enjoy your birthday!
I had anticipated a poop bath once or twice, but luckily have escaped them so far! Sorry. and happy birthday!
Post a Comment